History of Lake Sebu

The history of lake sebu is divided into four (4) major periods marking significant events that lead to what is it today.

The First period started with the saga of the tagabili tribe who migrated to this part of Mindanao perhaps long before the birth of  Christ. Because of geographical barriers, these people led an isolated and peaceful existence for centuries unaffected by the socio-political and political and religious upheaval in the lowland..

The Second period began when in the 1940’s the first wave of Christians settlers set foot in these indigenous cultural communities. Armed with land grants and timber licenses, the settlers increasingly encroached upon the T’boli homelands and disenfranchised those  who had resided on the land since time immemorial. This era from 1940 to 1982 was known to be the age of Political struggle. It was in this unpredictable period that Lake Sebu become a municipality on November 11, 1982, with the passage of Batas Pambansa Blg. 249.

The Third period was coined as the period of Corporate Existence, the first set of municipal officials was appointed in 1984. by virtue of appointment, Jose T. Sison became the first mayor of Lake Sebu followed by Ramonito Crespo who won the first mayoral election in Lake Sebu in 1988. Ramonito Crespo was defeated by Samuel Loco in the 1992 election who retained his post of three consecutive terms.

Lake Sebu’s recent history to date dubbed as the “The New Millennium” speaks about civic awareness and political consciousness. It talks about a new breed of T’boli leaders taking notes on the last term of Loco administration and Basilio Salif Sr. system of governance.